The Royal Commonwealth Society is incorporated by Royal Charter.

Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II is our Patron and is supported by our inaugural Vice-Patron Her Royal Highness The Duchess of Cornwall. The Society is governed by the Council which consists of the Chair, Treasurer and Trustees. The Society is also represented by its President and Vice Presidents.  

Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II

Her Royal Highness The Duchess of Cornwall GCVO

Mario Testino ©

Council Members 

Dr Linda Yueh


Dr Linda Yueh is an economist at Oxford University, London Business School and LSE IDEAS. She is also a widely published author. 

Paul Green


Paul has over 25 years experience with the profit and not for profit sector, advising organisations on financial and operational issues relating to growth and organisational effectiveness. Previous roles include Treasurer at Malaria No More, Director of Global Finance at VSO along with various positions within the media and marketing sector.

Sarah Haid

Sarah was previously the Company Secretary and Royal Liaison for The Prince’s Trust Group, a founding Trustee of Prince’s Trust International and member of the Council of the National Trust.

Renée Horton-Coker

Renée has over 25 years’ experience as a systems integration consultant specialising in Programme and Project Management.  In 1999  Renée  co-founded SLWT a UK based charity promoting education, health and self-sufficiency of children and youth in Sierra Leone. Most recently she co-founded a foundation called LEADA - providing leadership coaching and skills in Sierra Leone and Liberia. 

David Stead

David is Executive Director of Philanthropy and Development at the Charities Aid Foundation (CAF). Before joining CAF David held CEO/Director roles with major legal firms, KPMG, Accenture, UBS and RBS. David is also on the Board of Wave Trust and IESE Foundation.

Douglas Tweddle CBE

Doug Tweddle was the Director of HMRC responsible for customs and international relationships. Since his retirement, he has been an advisor to Governments on customs issues in Africa, Eastern Europe and the Americas. 


The Rt. Hon. the Lord Howell of Guildford PC

Lord Howell has served the UK for over 50 years both as an MP and as a Member of the House of Lords. He served in the administrations of Heath, Thatcher and Cameron and most recently as Minister of State at the Foreign and Commonwealth Office (2010-2012) with special responsibilities for the Commonwealth. 

Vice Presidents

His Highness the Aga Khan IV

The Rt. Hon. Patricia Scotland QC

Commonwealth Secretary-General

Advisory Group

Their Excellencies the Commonwealth High Commissioners to the United Kingdom 

Sir Shirdath Ramphal GCMG QC, Second Commonwealth Secretary-General (1975-1990)

Chief Emeka Anyaoku GCVO CFR, Third Commonwealth Secretary-General (1990-2000)

The Rt Hon Don McKinnon ONZ GCVO, Fourth Commonwealth Secretary-General (2000-2008)

Kamalesh Sharma GCVO, Fifth Commonwealth Secretary-General (2008-2016)