The Society is well recognised for our convening role. Formally, we serve as the Secretariat for the All-Party Parliamentary Group for the Commonwealth in the UK Parliament. The Group has an active membership of around 80 Parliamentarians who share an interest in the Commonwealth.

This and other informal, convening roles enable us to bring together policymakers with diplomatic representatives and civil society to keep members aware of the range of governmental and non-governmental activities and programmes carried out underneath the Commonwealth brand.

The APPG is co-chaired by Andrew Rosindell MP and Lord Chidgey. Lord Howell of Guildford acts as Honorary President. The Vice-Chairs of the APPG are: 

Baroness Uddin  Paul Bristow MP
Bob Stewart MP Baroness Hooper
Chi Onwurah MP  Peter Bottomley MP
Baroness Prashar  Sheryll Murray MP
Sir Edward Leigh MP  Rob Butler MP
Conor McGinn MP Baroness Hoey 
Sammy Wilson MP Baroness Finlay of Llandaff 
Mary Robinson MP Bob Blackman MP
Dr Lisa Cameron MP Lord Popat 
Tommy Sheppard MP Baroness Mobarik 
Lord Addington  Lord Mendelsohn 

During the year the Society works with the co-chairs to develop a programme of meetings. Previous speakers have included:

  • His Excellency Mr Imran Khan, Prime Minister of Pakistan
  • Lord Ahmad of Wimbledon, UK Minister for South Asia and the Commonwealth
  • Her Excellency Yamina Karityani, High Commissioner for the Republic of Rwanda
  • Mr Philip Parham CMG, UK Envoy to the Commonwealth


Registered Contact:

Andrew Rosindell MP, House of Commons, London, SW1A 0AA. Tel: 020 7219 8475

Email: [email protected]

Public Enquiry Point:

Elizabeth van der Valk, Royal Commonwealth Society, 40-41 Pall Mall, London SW1Y 5JQ. Tel: 020 3727 4309

Email: [email protected]